WHERE IS KROGER??

When my dad took me to New York when I was 10, I told him I couldn’t ever imagine living in New York because I didn’t know where the Kroger was.

My opinion still stands on that. I went grocery shopping for the first time this evening. Terrible. Terrible. Overwhelming. I wanted Kroger. I was about 2 minutes away from fetal position in the dairy aisle.

Now don’t get me wrong. It was a very quaint grocery store. But I am not one for change. So you can imagine my overwhelming feelings when I didn’t know where anything was and they didn’t carry my crucial items. Where was my Great Value brand??? I couldn’t find the raisins.

I spent a quality 30 minutes wandering the aisles aimlessly and came out with the following items:

spaghetti noodles

canned pasta sauce

bread

peanut butter

a bag of bananas

99 cent frosted mini “spooners” ( like mini wheats but I also didn’t buy milk)

greek yogurt (I’ve never had this…)

and garbanzo beans.

This is the closest I’ve been to sadness while I’ve been here. I came out feeling like I had failed. I had mastered the skills of grocery shopping the last four years and now I feel inadequate. Supposedly there is a bigger grocery store a little further away. I’ll try again then.  But for now I will eat my dry mini spooners and mourn the loss of Kroger.

Kroger fo’ life.

7 thoughts on “WHERE IS KROGER??

  1. gah, same thing happened to me in denver when i tried to go to safeway. i spent two hours shopping, had an extreme hot flash near the produce, and ruined my life. then i found king soopers, which is owned by The Mighty Krog and carries all of my kroger brand goodies. i wish you luck on your quest.

  2. I went to one of those minimarts and got so stressed that I could never go again! I’ve spent the last 3 months shopping at Walgreens from groceries. But I have faith that you can figure out the minimarts. Take baby steps maybe! Haha.

  3. Pingback: My first *ahem* ummm… meal « From the Fifth Floor

  4. Pingback: 100th Post! « From the Fifth Floor

  5. Pingback: OUR FIRST ANNIVERSARY! « From the Fifth Floor

  6. Oh my gosh. I completely feel you. NYC grocery stores drive me nuts! Why dont they just have any normal grocery stores??? I can never find anything i need, not to mention the bill is always a thousand dollars!!

Post a comment, love note, suggestion, idea for government reform, or a comment.

