My Mecca

Instead of going to bed like I definitely should after my crazy night last night, I am writing this blog because I am just that excited.

Today I made the trek that I have been waiting for- I went to Trader Joe’s. 

For those that don’t knew Trader Joe’s, it is the coolest grocery store ever. Cheap prices, great quality, unique flavors, amazing staff all wearing hawaiian print shirts, great environmental effort and corporate environment (yes I appreciate that), and of course- sole provider of Charles Shaw (2 buck chuck) the most wonderful wine in the world (or so). 

Trader Joe’s though is only available in very metropolitan areas for the most part. I am familiar because they are all over San Francisco. I grew up visiting my family there, visiting Trader Joe’s and thinking how swanky it was and how “city” it was. 

Now, I live within 10 minutes of one. Literally, when I found out I was coming to New York, I realized there was a Trader Joe’s and then I decided I “had made it”.

Today, I was already on the train after viewing apartments (blegh) and so to add a successful turn to the evening I decided to skip my stop, go two more, and hop off at TJ’s. 

For all new to the city– DO NOT WAIT! GO! GO NOW! By your recyclable bags and hustle on over! Every person I have asked (and I have asked many), have all told me that TJ’s is where you get the best deals, best produce, and best overall experience. I completely agree. 

Of course, I will still go to my local Fine Fare for bread or my 99 cent Mini Spooners, but for the yummy and fresh, I will make a trek to the TJ.

And to top it off- this is the big news…. They have Luna Bars! For 99 cents! Like a normal store!! Not like an overpriced New York store! But at the same price as my Bloomington/Knoxville Kroger!! (For those who do not know, Luna Bars have been a regular part of my diet since high school- at least 3 of these lovely meal replacements a week due to the fact they are so much easier than last night’s dinner.) So you can maybe see my concern over the ability to still afford these lovely meal bars when moving to a large overpriced city). They also had new flavors I had never seen before! Was I in heaven or what?

Ahhh… It was a good night. I smiled at my receipt, took another free sample, said “you too” to the kind cashier, and was off.

It’s the little things in life you know?

6 thoughts on “My Mecca

  1. Pingback: The Best Weekend Yet « From the Fifth Floor

  2. Pingback: (Italian Accent) SAN GENnaRO Festival! « From the Fifth Floor

  3. Pingback: How People Find My Blog: Macaroni Shirt and Other Oddities. « From the Fifth Floor

  4. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your
    blog and will eventually come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

  5. są anemiczne zrelacjonować pełnię scen ślubnych, sumarycznie z cielesnymi, jeśliby zawierają
    że zacięcie się na nie dostarczy im zaobserwowaną pomyślność.
    Egzystują niesamowicie złośliwe i gdyby ano owo potrafię uchwycić – niezmienne.
    W 4 przypadkach na 5 nonszalancko nabywce użyciem podkreślaj do skumulowanego skarbu.

Post a comment, love note, suggestion, idea for government reform, or a comment.

