What I Miss the Most

So today is my third week anniversary in New York- and what a third week it has been. Holy cow.

On this third week anniversary I would like to reflect on those things that I am starting to miss. I mean, there are the obvious things- family, friends, a life that isn’t being lived out of boxes, etc. But I also really miss fresh fresh produce, gas station fountain drinks, and one main thing- my car.

My sweet Civi :)

I don’t miss my car so much because I want it in the city with me (HELL NO). I actually am starting to rock public transit. But I miss my little home on wheels. My car was the most permanent thing in my life for the last 6 years, and it was definitely the hardest thing to let go of.

I have had my car since I was 16 years old.

Yes. Those are overalls.

I took it to Florida

twice.

Indiana, countless times

 

and most importantly, I took it wherever I wanted to go within my own limits. If I needed to drive, I drove. I miss having that freedom of turning on the ignition and going wherever I wanted.

My car was my greatest companion for adventures.

Immature high school pranks, deep discussions, SO many laughs, and countless hours of car jamming are deeply missed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If I’ve learned one thing out of selling my car- I’ve learned this: All those people on the subway that I thought were crazy because they would sing out loud to whatever was in there ears, aren’t really crazy. They just don’t have a place to car jam- just like me.

Until we meet again sweet friend...


7 thoughts on “What I Miss the Most

  1. Awwwww….it doesn’t seem that long ago that I was getting that big bow made to put on that pretty car. It definitely was “you.”
    I’ll miss it, too…..

  2. I missed my car all the time while I was there. But on the fresh produce side, it’s a bit of an adventure from where you’re living but if you go to Union Square, every Saturday they have a farmers market. Amazing. Fresh veggies, milk, etc. Very neat. I’m sure if you search online there might be one closer, but we used to go there all the time when we needed real food.

  3. Pingback: Moving to New York: The Packing Saga « From the Fifth Floor

  4. Pingback: The Habits of City Walk-Driving « From the Fifth Floor

Post a comment, love note, suggestion, idea for government reform, or a comment.

