Lauren Does Broadway!

So obviously now being in New York allows me access to Broadway shows all the time… technically. They are also kind of expensive and hard to go to frequently when you have a job that consumes life. But I have been able to fit in a few! Since I know so many of you want to come visit very soon (riiiiggght??), I thought I would give you a piece of my experience so far.

To date, I have seen three shows- none of which I’ve paid full price. Which is the only way to go!! So while I have to have a bit more patience, it totally pays off. 

Ways to see cheap Broadway shows:

  1. The TKTS booth– you can buy tickets up to 50% off after 3PM, day of show. Technically I have yet to go there. But it works!
  2. Day-of rush. SO great! I recommend going on a double show day (Saturdays or Wednesdays) because more seats are available. Go with a friend, bring a coffee, get there a half hour before the box office opens. It’s a great time. You can see a list of all the rush options here: http://www.broadwayforbrokepeople.com/ (Thanks Tay).
  3. Have a roommate that works in a theater company and gets free tickets. (Again, thanks Tay)
  4. Go with a parent for a special trip :)

To help you whittle down your choices for what you want to see, here is my take on the shows:

My first show I saw (after almost two months in the city!) was Follies with my dear Anna and Miriam. What a way to start it off!! Bernadette Peters and an amazingly talented cast! It was so magical and really solidified for me living in this crazy city.  I got emotional.

Also, the older women in the show were badasses. I totally want to be them when I grow up. With the big costumes and the fancy walks, after the show we couldn’t help but walk down the stairs like the Follies girls!

The second show I saw was just last week with my dad, War Horse. This one was a birthday present to me! I had been wanting to see this show since it won the Tony for Best Play this last year, and it was well worth the wait! The puppets were absolutely amazing and the staging was beautiful! I was captivated the whole time. I got emotional.

It was also super special to see a show at Lincoln Center, in my opinion the most magical area in the  whole city. And I was with my dad, best date a girl could have!

Finally, just tonight, I saw the new musical, Bonnie and Clyde. This one was super interesting because the show technically hasn’t opened, it is still in previews (they can still make changes to the show if they like before it freezes forever after opening). So there are zero reviews of the show- no idea what to expect! And it was SO great! I’m a history buff so the story was awesome, plus the AMAZING voices and catchy songs! I got emotional.

I was also super interested in this show because it stars Laura Osnes, winner of Grease! You’re the One that I Want, the reality TV show to find the Danny and Sandy for the Grease Revival. She won the reality show and has been rocking it out ever since. But I was obsessed with that show senior year of high school, so I weirdly excited to see her perform. Jeremy Jordan (Clyde) was so freaking talented (and hot). The staging so creative too! Favorite and most shocking part- Melissa Van Der Schyff (I’m looking at my program so I know her name). She played Blance Barrow, Clyde’s sister-in-law. When she opened her mouth to sing, I was shocked, straight up Dolly Parton. It was looooovely.

So all in all, success so far!! But how could it not be?? It is Broadway. 

So if you want a classic- Follies

If you want a visual experience- War Horse

If you want something new and fun- Bonnie and Clyde!

More to come I”m hoping very soon!!

8 thoughts on “Lauren Does Broadway!

  1. Pingback: Lauren Does Broadway (Again)! « From the Fifth Floor

  2. Pingback: Camping Out For A Salesman « From the Fifth Floor

  3. Pingback: Lauren Does Broadway (Thrice!) « From the Fifth Floor

  4. Fantastic items from you, man. I have remember your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely excellent. I really like what you’ve got right here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you assert it. You make it enjoyable and you continue to care for to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a tremendous site.

Post a comment, love note, suggestion, idea for government reform, or a comment.

