Ukulele Christmas Cabaret (Hell Yeah)

Last night Laura was my buddy once again for another amazing New York Christmas adventure. This was a bit less mainstream than The Rockefeller Christmas Tree Lighting, but just as fun and just as seasonal. 

Thanks again to The Skint, I heard about the Secret Santa Ukulele Cabaret. From what I could put together Ukelele Cabaret is a bunch of people that get together every once in a while and have different themed performances– all with ukuleles of course. 

With ukulele being one of my musical weaknesses (banjo being the other), I HAD to go to this show! 

Laura and I walked into the crowded Jimmy’s No. 43 not seeing any site of an eclectic performance. But when were guided to a corner room we found this:

 

A wonderfully cozy room, decked with Christmas decorations and filled with ukulele players. 

The night was a huge variety of musical choices from traditional holiday songs to those you only heard Mystery Science Theater 3000. It was awesome. Laura and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. And the beer was good as well. 

 

 

Did you know that ukulele players are also the most amazing whistlers ever??

Favorite part of the evening- the incorporation of a sleigh bell iPad application to really make sure that the Christmas spirit was in the air! (Please note the electric ukuleles!)

It was just such a fun evening! The crowd was so friendly and really reminded me of my “family-esque” improv atmosphere. I related to the ukulele players! I feel like this event might very likely be my first holiday tradition in NYC- cause I’m definitely going back next year!

I got some videos of the event as well. Enjoy the fun performances!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Ukulele Christmas Cabaret (Hell Yeah)

  1. Awesome! I took an ukulele class in the 8th grade. I didn’t have an electric one, though. It was the old school kind. :) We did some performances too, but I was always so nervous. One time during a song, I was so jittery, I inadvertently hit the microphone stand with the ukulele. It made this loud noise, and people started clapping. Not exactly what I had in mind!

  2. Pingback: OUR FIRST ANNIVERSARY! « From the Fifth Floor

  3. Pingback: A Very Tuba Christmas « From the Fifth Floor

  4. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!

Post a comment, love note, suggestion, idea for government reform, or a comment.

