I Crockpotted!

This last week I got really gutsy and decided to be domestic. I knew I had a busy week ahead and didn’t want to be eating out all the time, so I needed to make a big batch of something.

For those of you who know me, or read this post, you know cooking is not a strong suit of mine. I try, but cooking for one (*sigh*) and cooking on a budget makes it even harder. But this week I went head-first into domesticity. I conquered the crockpot.

For me, the crockpot resonates as like the most impressive tool in the kitchen. I have memories of my mother cooking grandma’s meat (my great Grandma Scanlon’s recipe), pulling out these brilliantly magical pieces of meat, and thinking it was the most amazing show of culinary skill when really, it was one of the easiest.

But either way, due to my fond memories of crockpot meals, trying out the crockpot for the first time was a significant moment in my culinary career.

I decided to go with a recipe I got in an email recipe exchange (so little miss homemaker right?)- a chicken tortilla soup.

1 can black beans

1 can pinto beans

1 can chili beans

1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes

(drain all of the above)

3 cans of beef broth

1 10 oz can of tomato sauce

1pkg of taco seasoning

1pkg of ranch dressing mix

1.5-2 lbs chicken, ground beef or smoked sausage 

Combine all ingredients in a crock pot. Heat on high for 4 hrs. Serve with tortilla chips and all your favorite toppings!

First off, let me say this recipe was not city proof. Hauling the many different heavy cans, chicken, and other various ingredients along with the regular groceries back from the store, even if it is just across the street, was difficult! And I will not submit to the cart! So next time, I’ll make a separate trip just for the soup ingredients.

My various ingredients and a Diet Coke for strength. (And a nice can opener!!)

But that was about the most difficult part of the soup! Everything else was Lauren proof! I even timed the finished product to be done when we returned from a friend’s performance, so the whole house smelled like a cooked Mexican fiesta!

Look away... now smell the Mexican... now look a the soup...

I’m pretty proud of myself and I’ve been eating it all week! Oh- but if beans don’t suit your system, this one might not be the best for you!! No better way to end a blog than with a reference to the digestive system…

Cheers to the crockpot!

3 thoughts on “I Crockpotted!

  1. Pingback: Lauren Conquers Food « From the Fifth Floor

Post a comment, love note, suggestion, idea for government reform, or a comment.

