Whit

The death of Whitney Houston this weekend completely devastated me. I grew up listening to Whitney Houston music. Between my mother’s Jazzercise routines and my complete obsession with the VH1 Divas Live concerts, Whitney was all over my house.

I sang Whitney Houston in my 5th grade talent show (I was a confident child).

She was one of the first CDs I ever owned.

Somewhere there are images of a huge collage I made of my favorite “divas” from about the 4th grade. I intricately cut and taped images of my favorite female singers from all of my mom’s People magazines onto a bulletin board. It took over a year for me to complete but I was committed.  There was Shania, Gloria Estefan, Aretha, Bette Midler, Mariah, a little Britney and Christina (they were still new), Celine, and Whitney. She was all over it. I had that board for sentimental reasons until I moved to college.

I watched her tribute at the Grammys about 10 times before noon.

Talking about her at work today got me emotional.

But how could you not get emotional with the death of someone that could bring out so much emotion with her voice? It is such a sad story and she will truly be missed.

So it truly touched me today when walking home from work I saw this at the Apollo (where Whitney filmed The Greatest Love of All)

And this:

And this:

Whitney music has been blasting in the streets here since Saturday. I woke up Sunday morning to the sounds of “The Greatest Love of All” from outside my window.

Such a lovely tribute and just another reason why I love living in Harlem.

Post a comment, love note, suggestion, idea for government reform, or a comment.

