Holy Momofuku

One of New York’s biggest draws is food. And New York foodies like to drop big names. Marcus Samuellson, Tom Colicchio, Daniel Boulud, are all names that raises attention,  noses and  eyebrows in the food world.

One of those among food royalty is David Chang owner/chef/whatever-you-want-to-call-it of the Momofuku line of restaurants in New York. While some are swankier, more exclusive, and more expensive than others, all of the Momofuku restaurants are known to be great.

When my great buddy Miriam wanted to go to Momofuku Noodle Bar for her birthday, I was all on board. Because I have to admit, while $1 pizza has a special place in my heart, the opportunity to go to one of the city’s most talk about restaurants gets me feeling involved, informed, and very cool.

Noodle Bar is one of the more chill Momofuku restaurants and a little less expensive (which is always nice) but the food was unlike anything I had tasted before.

The place was packed and buzzing

We sat right at the bar and watched the chefs place little dollops of something and little flecks of something else on the tiny portioned meals.

Upon recommendations, we first shared the “buns”. We got a salmon bun and a brisket bun. The brisket bun is the most amazing food I’ve ever had the opportunity to taste. I mean, I could eat like a billion. You can stop reading now if you want. This is as good as it gets…IN LIFE. One of my first real food items in New York that I now crave (except Subway sandwiches of course).

And then I got my noodle bowl. I stayed safe with the noodles while other ventured to more spicy territory. But it was delicious. I wish I could identify all of the different flavors that made it so good all together! See that seaweed? Yeah- I ate it. See that hardboiled egg? Yeah- I have no idea what was on it, but I ate that too.The meat alone was good enough to serve by itself. Give me that chicken and throw in some brisket from the buns and I’m a happy meat-eating girl.

After the noodles we got a blend of peach and burnt honey ice cream. Unreal. It was a splendid evening for the taste buds all around. And relatively inexpensive! Especially after having now eaten it, I know it is TOTALLY worth the price.

And Happy Birthday Miriam!!

One thought on “Holy Momofuku

  1. Pingback: Madison Square Eats « From the Fifth Floor

Post a comment, love note, suggestion, idea for government reform, or a comment.

