When your eyeballs aren’t your own

20121022-230802.jpg

Do you ever have those moments where you go a little out of body? Like you’re narrating your own life? Like your eyes turn into strangers and you’re seeing something for the first time?

It hasn’t happened to me in a while. I’ve been bogged down, busy, going from thing to thing and have had a ton of distractions.

But tonight- maybe it was the extra jolt of PSL or maybe it was the decision to walk twenty blocks to improv instead of take the train but it happened to me.

I was walking across the street. I knew where I was, where I was going, enjoying my music and scoping out the next restaurant to visit- and then I was out of body.

HELLO?!? Since when have you lived in New York? Crazy town. Do you see where you are?? You live here. LIVE here.

I take it for granted. I don’t always like it. But I’m here and sometimes that is still hard to believe.

And then the eyeballs become mine again….

2 thoughts on “When your eyeballs aren’t your own

Post a comment, love note, suggestion, idea for government reform, or a comment.

